Quality Enhancement Plan

Important:

MC Cares: For information on COVID procedures and reported cases at MC facilities, visit our Coronavirus Updates page.

close

Quality Enhancement Plan

"The Quality Enhancement Plan was developed with one goal in mind and that is to help students. We know our students have the ability to be successful in meeting their goals, and we also know that many of our students are vulnerable to a variety of barriers that make it difficult for them. Having someone who is there for them can make all the difference."      -Dr. Steve Thomas, President

 STRIVE Logo

 

Will Torres & Kelly Tribble
STRIVE Co-Directors

STRIVE@midland.edu

 

What Is Our QEP?

Through the broad engagement of faculty, staff, and students, Midland College has chosen STRIVE, a Student Success Coaching program, as the focus for its Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP). STRIVE is designed to develop academic self-efficacy in students and, thereby, improve student learning and success outcomes.

What are the expected outcomes?

MC has established one Student Learning Outcome (SLO) and six Student Success Outcomes (SSO):

  • SLO 1: Students who participate in coaching sessions will, at the end of their formal coaching program, demonstrate an increase in academic self-efficacy. 

Students who attend at least two coaching sessions each semester will demonstrate an/a:

  • SSO 1: Increase in successful completion of 15 Semester Credit Hours (SCH) in an academic year
  • SSO 2: Increase in successful completion of 30 SCHs in an academic year
  • SSO 3: Improve fall to spring retention
  • SSO 4: Improve fall to fall retention
  • SSO 5: Decrease semester credit hours to completion
  • SSO 6: Decrease time to completion

What will coaches do?

STRIVE Coaches establish an appreciative coaching relationship with assigned students to help them maximize their strengths and build their academic self-efficacy. These coaches will help and encourage students to set goals and overcome barriers so they can achieve success during their time at Midland College. They commit to fully engage in professional development, assessment activities, and as active participants in the program. Coaches represent the values and heart of our student-centered College and will be recognized as role models for their contribution.

Who will serve as coaches?

Currently, STRIVE coaches consist of full-time faculty and instructional staff. As the program expands, coaching opportunities will be opened up to full-time and part-time faculty and staff who volunteer to take part in the program.

Who will be coached and when?

During years 1 and 2 of STRIVE, recipients of the Legacy Scholarship will participate in the coaching program. In year 3, STRIVE will then expand more broadly to students with greater need. Legacy Scholars will be included throughout the STRIVE program, and in Years 4 and 5 other student groups will be phased in as institutional capacity allows.

What is the STRIVE support structure?

STRIVE is supported by 2 Co-Directors, a Coordinator, a Steering Committee, and 8 Work Teams. Resources to support STRIVE include contributions from the College’s Foundation, grants, and other local revenue.

STRIVE Steering Committee


Dr. David P. Hopkins, Jr. – STRIVE CHAIR

Henry Professor of History, Department Chair,
Associate Professor of History
dhopkins@midland.edu

Will Torres - STRIVE Co-Director
Director, Teaching & Learning Center
wtorres@midland.edu

Kelly Tribble - STRIVE Co-Director
Director, Legacy Scholars Program
ktribble@midland.edu

Erin Casey Richardson
Associate Director, Institutional Advancement, Scholarships
erichardson@midland.edu

John Gaspard
Assistant Professor, Student Success
jgaspard@midland.edu

Tom Glenn
Director of Enterprise Services
tglenn@midland.edu

Kevin Goldsmith
Instructional Designer
kgoldsmith@midland.edu

Jennifer Goolsby
Director, Instructional Technology
jgoolsby@midland.edu


Lee Grimes 
Dean, Instructional Support Services
lgrimes@midland.edu

Nereida Huffman
Dean, Outreach and Advising
nhuffman@midland.edu

Wendy Kane
Dean, Student Life
wkane@midland.edu

Andres Madrid
Advisor, Student Recruiter/ Academic Fort Stockton
amadrid@midland.edu

Heather Sanders
Department Chair and Assistant Professor, Computer Programming
hsanders@midland.edu

Ginger Schantz
Faculty, Government/Political Science
gschantz@midland.edu

Kathryn Zimmerhanzel
Director, Institutional Effectiveness
kzimmerhanzel@midland.edu

Apply to MC Now

Thank you for choosing Midland College! If you are here to collect a few credits, take courses to transfer, or here to start a new career, we welcome you.

How to Apply